Menü
  • ZERO and NOUVEAU RÉALISME: Questioning Reality, Ahlers Pro Arte Foundation, Hanover, 26 February – 26 June 2016
    Artworks: Yves Klein, ahlers collection © Yves Klein Estate, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Ahlers Collection

Since its creation in 1995, one of the main tasks of the Ahlers Pro Arte Foundation has been building up and continually developing its own collection of art, which enables it to contribute to the variety and quality of the ahlers collection. In line with its goals, its focus lies predominantly in German expressionism. Works by the artists of the Blauer Reiter group (Wassily Kandinsky, Franz Marc, Gabriele Münter, Alexej von Jawlensky, etc.) as well as the Brücke group (Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Erich Heckel, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, etc.) are showcased. Nevertheless, the ahlers collection also includes Emil Nolde, who was only a member of Brücke for a short period of time, Max Beckmann and Paula Modersohn-Becker.

In addition, the foundation takes an interest in the many connected artistic trends that have woven their way through the European art scene since the end of the Second World War, and in which the legacy of expressionism is still clearly evident. Examples included the international movement of nouveau réalisme (Arman, César, Raymond Hains, Yves Klein, Mimmo Roella, Daniel Spoerri, Jacques Villeglé, etc.) and ZERO (Heinz Mack, Otto Piene, Günther Uecker, etc.). Large groups of works by Dieter Roth, whose influence extended far beyond the Fluxus movement, and whose cross-disciplinary work continues to inspire many artists today, are represented in the collection alongside his contemporaries (Dorothy Iannone, Emmett Williams, etc.).

The collection’s other specialisms include, for example, Russian avant-garde art from the 1960s onwards (Grisha Bruskin, Erik Bulatov, Ilya Kabakov, Dmitri Prigov, etc.) and Chinese avant-garde art created from the 1990s onwards (Yue Minjun, Zeng Fanzhi, Zhang Xiaogang, etc.).

A catalogue documenting the ahlers collection and its history is currently in production.

Scroll top

Menü
  • „ZERO und NOUVEAU RÉALISME: Die Befragung der Wirklichkeit“, Stiftung Ahlers Pro Arte, Hannover, 26. Februar - 26. Juni 2016
    Kunstwerke: Yves Klein, ahlers collection © Yves Klein Estate, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Ahlers Collection

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahre 1995 besteht eine wesentliche Aufgabe der Stiftung Ahlers Pro Arte im Aufbau und in der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung einer eigenen Kunstsammlung, um auf diese Weise zur Vielfalt und Qualität der ahlers collection beizutragen. Ihrer Zielsetzung folgend liegt der Fokus dabei zunächst auf dem deutschen Expressionismus. Hervorzuheben sind die Künstler des „Blauen Reiters“ (Wassily Kandinsky, Franz Marc, Gabriele Münter, Alexej von Jawlensky u.a.) und der Künstlergruppe „Brücke“ (Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Erich Heckel, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff u.a.). Aber auch Emil Nolde, der nur kurz zur „Brücke“ gehörte, Max Beckmann und Paula Modersohn-Becker sind in der ahlers collection prominent vertreten.

Darüber hinaus gilt das Interesse den vielfältig miteinander verflochtenen Kunstströmungen, die sich seit dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges in Europa entwickelten und in denen das Erbe des Expressionismus nachwirkte. Stellvertretend seien die internationalen Bewegungen Nouveau Réalisme (Arman, César, Raymond Hains, Yves Klein, Mimmo Rotella, Daniel Spoerri, Jacques Villeglé u.a.) und ZERO (Heinz Mack, Otto Piene, Günther Uecker u.a.) genannt. Auch Dieter Roth, der weit über die Fluxusbewegung hinauswirkte und mit seinem gattungsübergreifenden Schaffen viele Künstler bis heute inspiriert, und sein Umfeld (Dorothy Iannone, Emmett Williams u.a.) fanden mit großen Werkgruppen Eingang in die Sammlung.

Zu den weiteren Schwerpunkten der ahlers collection zählen beispielsweise die russische Avantgardekunst seit den 1960er-Jahren (Grisha Bruskin, Erik Bulatov, Ilya Kabakov, Dmitri Prigov u.a.) und die seit den 1990er-Jahren entstandene chinesische Avantgardekunst (Yue Minjun, Zeng Fanzhi, Zhang Xiaogang u.a.).

Ein Sammlungskatalog, der die ahlers collection und ihre Geschichte dokumentiert, ist in Arbeit.

Nach oben scrollen